Introduction (statistics as of Sept 30, 2013)

The Cape Breton-Victoria Regional School Board is committed to providing the best educational programs and services to our children and community. We strive to build strong basic educational skills and augment these attributes by challenging the most sophisticated learner. Our Board is noted for its diversity in all programs. We transport students over approximately 3,238 sq. Km. 
Additionally, the Board has developed state of the art technology laboratories with a district-wide computer network system.

Cape Breton-Victoria Regional School Board was formed in 1996, because of the merger of the Cape Breton District School Board and the Northside-Victoria District School Board.

In 1996, the Board was comprised of twenty (20) Board members, and in October, 1997, that was reduced to eleven (11) elected, and one (1) appointed native representative. In October, 2000, the Board was increased to fourteen (14) members. Included in this number are ten (10) members representing the 21 Cape Breton Regional Municipality districts; two (2) members from Victoria County; one (1) elected African Nova Scotian representative; and one (1) appointed First Nations representative. In October, 2012 the Board increased to Sixteen (16) members.

The Board covers a vast area, encompassing urban and rural settings in two municipalities - Cape Breton Regional Municipality and Victoria County.

Our Board provides educational services to over 12,959 students in 49 schools. We have approximately 1,000 teachers and 1,257 non-teaching staff.  The Cape Breton-Victoria Regional School Board is the second largest employer on Cape Breton Island.

In the fall of 2000, six (6) new elementary schools were opened. These included: Cape Smokey, North Highlands, Harbourside, Greenfield, Jubilee and Riverside. In addition, the newly renovated Boularderie Elementary School was ready for occupancy in September, and officially opened in December, 2000. Shipyard Elementary School was ready for occupancy in September, 2002, and Brookland Elementary opened in September, 2004. On October 2, 2007, Rankin School of the Narrows (Sgoil Mhic Fhraing a Chaolais), was officially opened. In addition, Ferrisview Elementary in North Sydney opened in April, 2010 and Oceanview Education Centre opened in November, 2010.

The Board provides continuing education programs and services for over four hundred (400) registrants each year.  We presently educate and provide services to over 145 full-time and part-time International students and 14 short term International students.  These students come from Argentenia, Belgium, Brazil, China, Columbia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Germany, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Norway, Poland South Korea, Spain and Turkey.

Our Board is proud to have aboriginal students attending Sydney Academy participating in The Martin Aboriginal Educational Initiative (MAEI’s).

Under AYEP, Aboriginal students in grades 11 and 12 gain knowledge of business and entrepreneurial experience while developing the skills and knowledge they need to complete their high school education and go on to post-secondary studies.

Our Special Education program was founded on the philosophy that every student is entitled to an education in the most beneficial environment available. Programs range from those offered in special classes, to those that provide support for students in the regular classroom.

We as a Board remain committed to working with our school communities, to ensure that all our children will receive a quality education.

Back to the top


Back to the top

Mission Statement

The Cape Breton-Victoria Regional School Board fosters a caring, dynamic, and creative environment that provides educational opportunities, promotes a love of learning, respect for others, and challenges all persons to develop their full potential to become confident, versatile, lifelong learners and thinkers.

Back to the top

Unique Features

Back to the top