Cape Breton-Victoria Regional School Board

Central Office

Sydney, N.S.

April 22, 2005


(1)               CALL TO ORDER:


A Special Board meeting of the Cape Breton-Victoria Regional School board was called to order today beginning at 10:00 p.m.


(2)             RECORD OF ATTENDANCE:


Present:                 Darlene Morrison, Chair             Keith Bain, Vice-Chair

Charlie Keagan                           Fred Tilley

Joan Currie                     Kevin Ruelland

Sandra Margettie            Dr. Andrew Lynk            

Myrtle Campbell             


Absent:                Lorne Green           George MacDonald

Gary Fraser           George Marshall

Stan MacKinnon


Also Present:            Ed Davis, Superintendent of Schools

Doug Peach, Director of Finance

Beth MacIsaac, Director of Human Resource Services

Archie MacEachern, Director of Programs and Student Services

Jim Burton, Regional Education Officer

Tony Mozvik, Sampson McDougall, Barristers & Solicitors

Stacey Pineau, Communications Representative

Michelle MacLeod, Recording Secretary


Chair Darlene Morrison once again commended management for doing an excellent job.  Commissioner Morrison expressed thanks to Ms. Stacey Pineau, Communications Representative  on behalf of the Board.




Moved by Commissioner Margettie

Seconded by Commissioner Currie


that the Board go in-camera. . .


Motion carried



Vice Chair Keith Bain assumed the role of Chair.




Moved by Commissioner Lynk

Seconded by Commissioner Campbell


that the Board rise and report. . .


Motion carried



Vice Chair Keith Bain reported that the Board was updated on recent CUPE Local 5050 negotiations.


Superintendent Davis recognized all staff, the board, the negotiating team, the Regional Inspector and professional support for their hard work and diligence during the strike.


(5)        Motion to adjourn the meeting. . .


The meeting adjourned at 10:55 p.m.




__________________________________             _____________________________

DARLENE MORRISON                          J. DOUGLAS PEACH

BOARD CHAIR                                      BOARD SECRETARY