Cape Breton-Victoria Regional School Board

Central Office

Sydney, N.S.

September 27, 2005


(1)        CALL TO ORDER:

A Special Board meeting of the Cape Breton-Victoria Regional School board was called to order today beginning at 5:13 p.m.




Present:                        Darlene Morrison, Chair                          Keith Bain, Vice-Chair

                                      Dr. Andrew Lynk                                      Charlie Keagan

                                      Joan Currie                                              Sandra Margettie

                                      Gary Fraser                                             Kevin Ruelland 

                                      Myrtle Campbell                                      Lorne Green 

                                      George MacDonald 


Absent:                         Fred Tilley                      Stan MacKinnon            George Marshall


Also Present:               Mr. N.E. Davis, Superintendent

                                      Mr. Doug Peach, Director of Financial Services

                                      Mr. Don Matheson, Director of Operational Services

                                      Mr. Bernie MacKinnon, Coordinator of Human Resources

                                      Mrs. Michelle MacLeod, Recording Secretary



(3)        SCHOOL REVIEW:

Mr. Matheson, Director of Operational Services distributed information packages. A review of the process was explained. Enclosed in the package was a list of schools recommended by Senior Administration to undergo a review.

Commissioner Lynk entered the meeting at 5:48 p.m.

Some items enclosed in the package were the Board School Review Policy, information regarding small schools as outlined in the Hogg Report, budget and programming issues.

Moved by Commissioner Keagan

Seconded by Commissioner Margettie

that the Board approve the following schools to participate in School Review in accordance with the Education Act and Regulations. . .


          Ball’s Creek Elementary

          East Bay Elementary

          Gowrie Elementary

          Marion Bridge Elementary

          Middle River Elementary

Motion carried



(4)        Adjournment of Meeting:

Meeting adjourned at 6:20 p.m.


__________________________________          _____________________________

            DARLENE MORRISON                          J. DOUGLAS PEACH

            BOARD CHAIR                                       BOARD SECRETARY