Home / Past Coal Bowls / Alumni / Coal Bowl 2016 / Honorees

Coal Bowl (2016) - Honorees

1979 New Waterford AAA Juvenile Jets Hockey Team

Nova Scotia Champions


    It was 37 years ago, in 1979, when the New Waterford Jets AAA hockey team was the first and only Juvenile team to win the Nova Scotia Championship. The team consisted of players from the Breton Education Centre Bears Hockey Team and players from New Waterford Minor Hockey. With a 2 year plan in mind, they started out their first year together, very young and not as experienced as the other teams in the high school league. In the first year, the players got discouraged with the double-digit losses and their goalies facing over 50 shots per game. But as their time together continued they built a strong team. They worked hard - and with determination and great support from the coaching staff, they were named the Nova Scotia Champions.

   For the Jets to get to the championship game, the players worked diligently along side of the coaching staff. In 1974, the New Waterford Arena had opened and ice time was at a premium. They were promised only 2 hours of ice time per week and no more. The coach inquired about more ice time and the rink manager offered a lunch time hour for half price. With that, the team started practicing every lunch hour, Monday - Friday. They practiced, ate lunch, showered and went back to their afternoon classes. With this extra time spent in the rink, they soon became very competitive in the high school league.

   The Jets quickly became fearless and confident as they made their way through the regular season and were entered in the top Juvenile Division in Nova Scotia by the late Art Fraser (President of New Waterford Minor Hockey). The tournament was played at the New Waterford Arena and consisted of teams from New Waterford, New Glasgow, Riverview and Halifax. The Jets played each team and won, sending them to Newfoundland and Labrador.

   After winning the Nova Scotia title, the New Waterford Jets travelled to Mount Pearl, Newfoundland and Labrador for the Atlantic Championship. They won their games against New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island - giving them the opportunity to play in the championship game against St. John’s, Newfoundland. The Jets lost that game with the score 3-2. Despite missing three players at that series they came very close to winning that crown which would have sent them to Quebec at the National 18 year olds tournament. The St. John’s team went on to the Eastern Canadian Championship where they lost to Quebec.

   This was a group of very fine young men, who only 2 years previous, were the underdogs. With heart, courage, passion and exhausting preparation they morphed from teenagers into young men. In the process they became champions; champions from a small community that has grown so many high caliber people.


Team Members include:

Paul Dupe (deceased)

Wayne Power (deceased)
Richard Graham (deceased)

Wilfred Sampson

Brian MacIsaac

Peter MacIsaac

Bruce Pasher

David Howell

Gordie Wilkie

Danny Campbell

Melvin Burke

Bruce Marsh

Lonnie Ratchford

Greg Chiasson

Stan Rich

Joe Vaninetti

George Campbell

Bernie MacEachern

Mark Baldin

Jamie Cameron

Brent Desrosiers


Gregor MacPherson (Coach)

Karl Marsh (Manager)

Glen Roach (Trainer)

Art Fraser (New Waterford Minor Hockey Rep) - deceased





Prepare to print
Bookmark and Share

Username: Password:


Register now ! | Lost Password