School Board Meeting Minutes:November 26, 2007 - Annual Board Meeting
Category : School Board Meeting - Minutes
Published by Michelle MacLeod [Michelle MacLeod] on 01/30/2008

Annual Board Meeting
November, 26, 2007
Memorial High School
Sydney Mines, N.S.

(1) Call to Order

A Meeting of the Cape Breton-Victoria Regional School Board was called to order today at 7:02 p.m.

(2) Record of Attendance

Present Were:

Darlene Morrison
Sandra Margettie
Fred Tilley
Charlie Keagan
Myrtle Turnbull-Campbell
Dr. Andrew Lynk
Lorne Green
Stan MacKinnon
Kevin Ruelland
George MacDonald
Cathy Pierrard
Gary Fraser
Joan Currie

Also present: Ed Davis, Superintendent

Beth MacIsaac, Director of Human Resource Services

John Astephen, Director of Programs and Student Services

Ambrose White, Director of Operational Services

Robert Sampson, Sampson & McDougall, Barrister & Solicitors

Jim Burton, Director of Regional Educational Services

Michelle MacLeod, Recording Secretary

Absent: First Nation Representative

(3) Election of Chair

Mr. Ed Davis assumed the Chair and explained the election process to those in attendance. He then called on Mr. Jim Burton, Director of Regional Educational Services and Mr. Robert Sampson, Sampson & McDougall Barrister & Solicitors to act as Scrutineers. Ballots were distributed and collected. Nominated were:

Lorne Green - accepted the nomination

Darlene Morrison - accepted the nomination

Commissioner Darlene Morrison was named Board Chair of the Cape Breton-Victoria Regional School Board for the 2007 - 2008 school year. Commissioner Morrison thanked members of the Board for their support.

(4) Election of Vice-Chair

Commissioner Morrison assumed the Chair and requested the Scrutineers to distribute ballots for the nomination of Board Vice-Chair. Nominated were:

Sandra Margettie -accepted the nomination

Lorne Green -declined

Kevin Ruelland -declined

Dr. Andrew Lynk -declined

Commissioner Margettie was named Vice-Chair of the Cape Breton-Victoria Regional School Board by acclamation. Commissioner Margettie expressed her thanks to all Board members.

(5) Destruction of Ballots

Moved by Commissioner Keagan

Seconded by Commissioner Pierrard

that the ballots be destroyed.. .

Motion carried


(6) NSSBA Representative

Moved by Commissioner Margettie

Seconded by Commissioner Currie

That the Board nominate Commissioner Campbell as the NSSBA Representative.

There were no other nominations. Commissioner Campbell was named NSSBA Representative by acclamation and Commissioner Keagan as alternate.

Motion carried


(7) Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 7:13 p.m.

___________________________ ______________________________

Darlene Morrison George Boudreau