School Board Meeting Minutes: December 9, 2008 - Special
Category : School Board Meeting - Minutes
Published by Michelle MacLeod [Michelle MacLeod] on 01/28/2009

Central Office
Sydney, N.S.
December 9, 2008

(1)               CALL TO ORDER:

A Special Board meeting of the Cape Breton-Victoria Regional School board was called to order today beginning at 5:13 p.m.

(2)               RECORD OF ATTENDANCE:

Present: Lorne Green, ChairDarren MacNeilSandra Margettie
 Joan CurrieDarryl FlynnSteve Parsons
 Charlie KeaganBarb MercerCathi Pierrard
Absent: Gary FraserDarlene MorrisonJackie Organ
 Kevin RuellandDarren GoogooFred Tilley
Also Present: N.E. Davis, Superintendent of Schools
 Beth MacIsaac, Director of Human Resource Services
 John Astephen, Director of Programs and Student Services
 Michelle MacLeod, Board Recording Secretary


Mr. Steve Parsons was nominated and accepted the position of parliamentarian.

A consensus was received and it was agreed to proceed with Roberts Rules of Order.


Mr. Davis, Superintendent of Schools noted that the Orientation session which was held in Halifax was an overview of the roles and responsibilities at the various levels ie. Department of Education, NSSBA and especially the regional Board.  He advised that we have an open door policy and that the Board members should feel that at any time they may contact staff with any concerns or issues they wished to see addressed.

Mr. Davis then reviewed the agenda for this evenings meeting.  He advised that each Director will speak providing an overview of their department’s.  He spoke with regards to policy making and implementation.  He highlighted that the functions of the Board are outlined in the Education Act. He also spoke about respect for one another.  He recognized some of the issues which occur from one Board to another with regards to parent concerns.  He identified the Learning for Life document and its importance.  He also spoke with regards to the forthcoming budget and the serious implications which may have an impact on our Board. 

He advised that the Deputy Minister has always been fair to our Board and that he has also spoke in high regards of our Board. 

He recognized Mr. Darrell Youden’s powerpoint presentation and how it addressed the issue of the funding formula which was found to be very beneficial to those in attendance.


Mr. John Astephen began the Directors presentation by reviewing the goals of the Business plan, the critical issues of the strategic plan and where we have come from the Learning for Life documents both past and present.  He discussed the outcomes and priorities of the Business Plan for 2008-2009

Commissioner Margettie left the meeting at 6:24 p.m.

Mr. Astephen also identified the staff which presently exist in his department while highlighting their primary responsibilities.

Mrs. Beth MacIsaac, Director of Human Resource Services provided a brief overview of the Human Resources Department and the responsibilities which fall under this department.  Some highlighted issues were the policies which follow under this department such as Attendance Management, Return to Work, Substance Abuse and the EAP program. Mrs. MacIsaac noted that a province wide report on Workers Compensation statistics will be released in the near future. 

Mrs. MacIsaac followed up with estimated numbers of staff which exist in CUPE (Regulars and casuals), NSTU (Regulars and substitutes) and the number of confidential employees.

When Mrs. MacIsaac reviewed her staff she also identified each of their roles and responsibilities while employed in this department.

Commissioner Pierrard questioned the issue of micro-managing.  It was her expectation to gain some insight regarding this issue either at the provincial orientation session or at the regional level.  Commissioner Green provided a brief overview of how the Board should deal with issues which are brought to their attention by the school community regarding our educational system.

(6)        Adjournment of the meeting. . .

The meeting adjourned at 7:17 p.m.

_________________________                                   ______________________

LORNE GREEN                                              GEORGE BOUDREAU

BOARD CHAIR                                               BOARD SECRETARY