Superintendent Report - May, 2013
Category : Superintendent Report
Published by Marjorie Graham [Marjorie Graham] on 05/28/2013

MAY, 2013

On Wednesday, May 8th, I had the opportunity to join with our Lieutenant Governor, His Honour Brigadier-General, The Honourable J.J. Grant, and his wife on the occasion of the presentation of His Medal to 16 students from our eight high schools. As Superintendent of the CBVRSB, I have many reasons to be proud. In our schools, we have exceptional staff providing caring and supportive learning environments for students. Students are actively engaged in the learning process in each educational setting through participation in a wide variety of programs and extracurricular activities. We also enjoy the support of engaged parents who take education seriously and value it. The resumes of our 16 Lieutenant Governor Award winners are truly fantastic. These young men and women have accomplished so much in their young lives and we are extremely proud of them. To the following Medalists, I congratulate you and your success is well deserved:

Anne Lindsay Anderson Baddeck Academy
Dylan Cole Burke Baddeck Academy
Kyle Daniel Gillis Breton Education Centre
Terryn Rose MacNeil Breton Education Centre
Hailey Dawn Dunphy Cabot Jr./Sr. High
Kenneth Ryan LeFriend Cabot Jr./Sr. High
Adam Gerard Currie Glace Bay High
Stacey Nicole Lee Glace Bay High
Mason Daniel Maxwell Memorial High
Emma Christine Simpson Memorial High
Lauren Mary Ellise MacDonald Rankin School of the Narrows
Linden Thomas MacMillan Rankin School of the Narrows
Nicholas James Barrett Riverview High
Carmen Francesca Landry Riverview High
Ashna Asim Sydney Academy
Ryan David Ley Sydney Academy

On May 10th, The Nova Scotia School Athletic Federation held their annual Celebration of School Sport at the World Trade and Convention Centre in Halifax. Exemplary Participation Awards were handed out to junior/middle school students and senior high school students. Representing and receiving awards from CBVRSB were:

Dr. T.L. Sullivan Jr. High: Maggie Forbes and William Day
Glace Bay High: Drew Neary and Kyle MacDonald
Riverview High Amanda Cameron and Daniel Andrews

Coaches receiving the Outstanding Service Award were:

Dr. T.L. Sullivan Jr. High: Charles Yorke
Glace Bay High: Joe MacLellan
Riverview High: Amanda Cameron

I congratulate all the winners and know they represent all our student athletes and coaches involved with our Board. It was truly a wonderful event, and to share with these athletes, coaches, school administrators and our Director of Programs & Student Services, Susan Kelley, was fantastic! It is just so nice to witness and celebrate the accomplishments of our students.

To continue in that capacity, I would mention that Junior Achievement has wrapped up another successful year of Company Program. The annual awards were held April 28th in Halifax. Our students did very well again, and I would like to recognize Emily Tilley of Memorial High School and her Company “All Dolled Up.” Emily received a $500 scholarship to go towards post-secondary studies. Katrina MacLean of Rankin School of the Narrows in Iona won outstanding First Year Achiever and received $100 and gets to attend NEXT, a Junior Achievement of Canada’s International J.A. conference. She will receive travel and conference fees to attend the conference in August. Again, well done girls.

On May 22, The Martin Aboriginal Educational Initiative and RBC Foundation, together with Membertou First Nation, the CBVRSB and Sydney Academy launched the MAEI’s Aboriginal Youth Entrepreneurship program at Sydney Academy.

Under AYEP, aboriginal students in grades 11 and 12 will gain knowledge of business and entrepreneurial experience while developing the skills and knowledge they need to complete their high school education and go on to post secondary studies. The Right Honorable Paul Martin, Canada’s 21st Prime Minister, along with other dignitaries including Board Members and staff, was present for the announcement of this initiative. This is an example of another great program we have because of the great work and diligence of staff, school, communities and foundations.

The annual meeting of ANSEA (Association of Nova Scotia Senior Educational Administrators) took place on May 10th at the Westin in Halifax. This organization promotes public education in Nova Scotia and sets out priorities and professional development of all its members. It consists of Superintendents, Directors, and other Senior Staff of the eight school boards in Nova Scotia. I congratulate Beth MacIsaac, our Director of Human Resources, who is our representative on the executive for the upcoming year and will serve as past chair.

Mr. Bill Burns, a physical education teacher at Coxheath Elementary was inducted in the Cape Breton Sports Hall of Fame on Saturday, May 25th, as an athlete for baseball, basketball and golf. Congratulations from everyone at the CBVRSB, Bill.

Mr. Chairman, I would like to direct your attention, and that of the board members and staff, to the comments from our school principals that are placed on individual school websites. These items represent the awards, achievements and successes of our students and staff within the boundaries of the Cape Breton Victoria Regional School Board. Again, I ask the principals to ensure that these important communications are kept up-to-date.